

# City of Manhattan Beach

1400 Highland Avenue Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

# **Legislation Text**

File #: 17-0146, Version: 1

TO:

Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

THROUGH:

Mark Danaj, City Manager

FROM:

Liza Tamura, City Clerk Martha Alvarez, Senior Deputy City Clerk George Gabriel, Management Analyst

#### SUBJECT:

City Council Reorganization:

- a) Recognition of Outgoing City Councilmembers Powell, Burton and D'Errico.
- b) Introduction of Newly Elected City Councilmembers Napolitano, Hersman and Montgomery.
- c) Introduction of Re-Elected City Treasurer Lilligren (City Clerk Tamura).

PRESENT, INTRODUCE

### RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the City Council recognize outgoing City Councilmembers Wayne Powell, Mark Burton and Tony D'Errico for their commitment and dedication to the City of Manhattan Beach; recognize newly elected Councilmembers Steve Napolitano, Nancy Hersman and Richard Montgomery; and recognize re-elected Treasurer Tim Lilligren.

# **BACKGROUND:**

Following the certification of the election results, Section 10265 of the California Elections Code requires that the City Clerk/elections official shall immediately sign and deliver to each person elected a certificate of election. The elections official is also required to administer to each person elected the oath of office prescribed in the California Constitution.

#### **DISCUSSION:**

The certification of the election results is on tonight's agenda for certification and ratification. Following the certification of these results, the City Clerk is required to administer the oath, as provided in the California Constitution, and provide each newly elected officer with a Certificate of Election.

The following candidates were elected to the three City Councilmember seats:

- 1. Steve Napolitano: 4,450 votes received.
- 2. Nancy Hersman: 3,472 votes received.
- 3. Richard Montgomery: 2,753 votes received.

File #: 17-0146, Version: 1

The following candidate was elected to the office of City Treasurer:

1. Tim Lilligren: 3,898 votes received.

# City Council Seating Order

Based on past precedence, the newly elected members would be seated in order based on the number of votes they received. Councilmember Napolitano received the highest number of votes, followed by Councilmember Hersman and Councilmember Montgomery. This order will determine who becomes Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem in upcoming City Council reorganizations.

## **POLICY ALTERNATIVES:**

Not applicable.

### PUBLIC OUTREACH/INTEREST:

After analysis, staff determined that public outreach was not required for this issue.

## **LEGAL REVIEW**

The City Attorney has reviewed this report and determined that no additional legal analysis is necessary.

## Attachment/Attachments:

None.